Breaking News


September 9, 2000 Results

Dixon Runs His Doors Off — Literally Shereck and Weber Win Modified and Sportsman Features PEVELY, MO. (September 9) — Ed Dixon needed to run the doors off his late model to hold off Mark Oller and Joe Ross Jr. for a feature victory Saturday night. After the race, the newly-crowned 2000 track champion cut the doors off his car and gave them to fans who submitted the highest bids — $200 per side — in a charity memorabilia auction. Oller and Ross hounded Dixon throughout the feature. Coming out of the second turn on lap 19, the three briefly ran side-by-side, but Dixon managed to lead all 25 laps from his front-row starting position. Dixon earlier won his heat and the dash. Darrell Hoffman and Dave Jumper won the other late model heats. Jim Shereck edged new modified track champion Scott Weber to win their feature, depriving Weber of …

Read More »

September 2, 2000 Results

Shive Shines at I-55 on Season Championship Night (Pevely, MO – Sep 2, 2000) Steve Shive started on the front row in the UMP Late Model feature event and jumped out front and led all twenty five laps to win his first feature event of the season at I-55 Raceway. Jason Frankel came home second in the caution free event. Jim Durbin, Mark Oller and Dave Jumper rounded out the top five. Veteran racer Don Klein won the hard charger award for his eighth place finish, moving up from his seventeenth starting position. Ed Dixon's tenth place finish secured him the season points championship in the UMP Late Model Division. Rusty Griffaw won his first ever UMP Modified feature. Griffaw edged out Dean Hoffman to the line by half a car length as the two banged wheels coming to the checkered flag. Shawn Rayfield grabbed third position. Scott Weber locked …

Read More »

August 26, 2000 Results

Oller wins 'Nationals' sneak preview at I-55 by Richard Stoff PEVELY, MO. (August 26, 2000) — Mark Oller pulled alongside Donnie Tudor as the two raced under the white flag and edged ahead to win Saturday's UMP Late Model feature in a sneak preview of the upcoming I-55 Pepsi Nationals. With rainouts at nearby Highland and Mt. Vernon speedways in Illinois, I-55 ended up with a number of drivers who normally race at those tracks. As a result, the 125-car field at Pevely included 11 of the top 20 drivers in the national UMP Late Model points standings. The 18th annual I-55 Pepsi Nationals, which annually attracts many of the top drivers in the Midwest, will be held Sept. 15-16. Oller was the fifth leader in the 25-lap late model final. Jeff Johns led the first three laps of the feature but coasted to a stop after his car dropped …

Read More »