Breaking News


June 12, 2002 Results

Danny Smith & Ed Dixon take Open Wheel Wednesday Honors! Pevely, MO (June 12, 2002) Severe thunderstorms rolled through I-55 Raceway on Monday and Tuesday and were forecast for Wednesday, putting a big question mark on whether the Open Wheel Wednesday show would even be run. But the only thunder on Wednesday at I-55 Raceway was provided by the racecars on the track. The action on the track kept the fans on their feet. Four different drivers swapped the lead nine times in the twenty-five lap sprint car feature. Bobby Hawks jumped out to the early lead and lead until the caution came out on lap ten. On the restart, Joey Montgomery, Tommy Worley and Danny Smith moved up and challenged for the lead. Hawks began to fade, and Montgomery and Smith swapped the lead several times in the closing laps with Worley close behind. Then on lap twenty-two, Montgomery …

Read More »

June 8, 2002 Results

Ratajczyk Roars to Victory at I-55! Pevely, MO (June 8, 2002) A near perfect evening for racing brought out a huge crowd and a lot of cars to I-55 Raceway. One hundred twenty one cars came through the gates to challenge the high banks including the current UMP National Late Model Point leader Terry English. Current track point leader Tim Ratajczyk kicked things off in the UMP Late Model division by besting Mark Oller and Dave Jumper in the first heat. In the second heat, Terry English worked his way from a last row starting spot to claim the win. Billy Faust was second and Don Klein third. In the third heat, Jim Durbin pulled away and picked up the win over Mark Burgtorf and Clay Baumann. Terry English jumped out front and handily won the dash over Jim Durbin and Tim Ratajczyk. In the twenty-five lap main event, Terry …

Read More »

June 1, 2002 Results

Dixon Dominates at I-55! Pevely, MO (June 1, 2002)Scorching temperatures invaded I-55 Raceway today as the thermometer pushed into the mid 90s. The action on the track was just as hot between the twenty-five UMP Late Models that signed in the gate. Ed Dixon started off the night just like he finished last week, by running away with the first qualifying heat. Dave Jumper and Mark Oller completed the top three. Tim Ratajczyk cruised to victory in the second heat over Jason Frankel and Brian Wolfmeier. The third heat saw Danny Haynes hold off the outstanding youngster Justin Allgaier. Third went to John Bohn. Dixon also went on to win the dash by besting Haynes and Ratajczyk. Dixon continued his hot streak in the feature. He pulled out to a huge lead early on; placing five lapped cars between him and second place Ratajczyk when the first caution came out …

Read More »