April 22, 2000 Results

Ed Dixon Breaks Through for First Victory of 2000 – Scott Weber and Paul Belken Jr. Also Notch Wins Pevely, Mo. (April 22) — It took three tries for defending champion Ed Dixon to win his first UMP Late Model feature at I-55 Raceway in the year 2000. Dixon passed Jim Durbin on lap seven of the 25-lap feature to take the lead Saturday night. Mark Oller, winner of the season's first two late model features, moved into second on the 16th lap but couldn't pass Dixon this week. John Hobson was third and Durbin ended up fourth. The action was close and tight throughout the race, with several pileups and many banging incidents. Pat Ryan finished the feature with the plastic nose piece from Clay Bauman's car hanging from his rear bumper. Dixon also won his heat and dash. Steve Shive won the other late model heat. The UMP …

Read More »

April 15, 2000 Results

Oller Streaks From 19th to Edge Dixon By Inches Story by Rick Stoff Pevely, Mo. (April 15) — Defending champion Ed Dixon took the lead of Saturday's UMP Late Model feature from Steve Shive on lap four at I-55 Raceway. Dixon cruised comfortably at the front of the field for the next 20 laps. Mark Oller, meanwhile, was fighting through the field from his 19th starting position. Oller pulled alongside Dixon with two laps to go, but Dixon held him off until the white flag lap. On the last circuit Dixon went to the cushion at the top of the track while Oller searched for traction in the moist dirt at the bottom of the turns. Oller put a slide job on Dixon going into the last turn, bringing the crowd to its feet. As Oller slid in front of Dixon, Ed cranked the steering wheel left and pulled to …

Read More »

April 1, 2000 Results

Oller Does Opening Ceremonies in I-55 Late Models Pevely, Mo. (April 1) — Mark Oller knocked off defending track champion Ed Dixon to win the first UMP Late Model feature of 2000 at I-55 Raceway Saturday night. Tim Ratajczyk followed Dixon across the line to finish third.         Jason Frankel was hot in the late model preliminaries, winning his heat and the dash. Ratajczyk and Steve Shive also won heat races.         Scott Weber opened the UMP Modified season with a feature victory over Leroy Haney and Tom Seets. The track's 1999 modified champ, Dean Hoffman, finished fourth.         Weber also won his heat and dash, giving him the first sweep of the season at I-55 Raceway.         Tom Ratajczyk, Matt Mevert and Darrell Hoffman also started their seasons with heat race wins. The 40-car modified field required two semi-features, which were won by Ray Walsh and Chris Soutiea.         …

Read More »