April 1, 2000 Results


Oller Does Opening Ceremonies in I-55 Late Models

Pevely, Mo. (April 1) — Mark Oller knocked off defending track
champion Ed Dixon to win the first UMP Late Model feature of 2000 at I-55 Raceway
Saturday night. Tim Ratajczyk followed Dixon across the line to finish

        Jason Frankel was hot in the late model preliminaries, winning
his heat and the dash. Ratajczyk and Steve Shive also won heat races.

        Scott Weber opened the UMP Modified season with a feature
victory over Leroy Haney and Tom Seets. The track's 1999 modified champ, Dean
Hoffman, finished fourth.

        Weber also won his heat and dash, giving him the first sweep of
the season at I-55 Raceway.

        Tom Ratajczyk, Matt Mevert and Darrell Hoffman also started
their seasons with heat race wins. The 40-car modified field required two
semi-features, which were won by Ray Walsh and Chris Soutiea.

        Mark Blanke was the sportsman stock car winner. Last year's
champion, Scott Stuppy, was second and Jim Troutman was third. The heat
races were claimed by Stuppy, Paul Belken Jr. and Troy Naeger. Belken
also won the dash.

        The next generation of Dixons to enter racing, Ed's son Danny,
qualified for the sportsman feature by winning the semi then advanced
to fifth in his first career feature.

        More than 100 race cars entered to celebrate the start of the season.

UMP Late Models
Heat 1: Jason Frankel
Heat 2: Tim Ratajczyk
Heat 3: Steve Shive
Dash: Frankel
Feature: Mark Oller, Ed Dixon, Ratajczyk

UMP Modifieds
Heat 1: Tom Ratajczyk
Heat 2: Scott Weber
Heat 3: Matt Mevert
Heat 4: Dean Hoffman
Dash: Weber
Semi-feature 1: Ray Walsh
Semi-feature 2: Chris Soutiea
Feature: Weber, Leroy Haney, Tom Seets

Heat 1: Paul Belken Jr.
Heat 2: Scott Stuppy
Heat 3: Troy Naeger
Dash: Belken
Semi-Feature: Danny Dixon
Feature: Mark Blanke, Stuppy, Jim Troutman

Print Friendly, PDF & Email