Breaking News


September 15, 2001 Results

Moyer claims I-55 Pepsi Nationals Title! PEVELY, MO (September 15, 2001) Billy Moyer of Batesville, Arkansas earned his fifth Pepsi Nationals title on Saturday night at the I-55 Raceway and claimed $10,000 for picking up the win. The win came in his sponsors’ backyard as he drove the Petroff Towing, B AUTO Parts, J&J Steel, Hoosier Tire, AFCO, C.J. Rayburn, Jay Dickens FORD powered #21 to victory lane. The night was kicked off with a very emotional tribute to the victims in New York, Pennsylvania and the Pentagon. Drivers and crews formed a complete circle around the speedway, all holding candles while God Bless the USA played in the background. I-55 Raceway collected over $6300 in donations from fans, sponsors and crews to donate to the American Red Cross. I-55 Raceway’s 2001 UMP Late Model Champion Ed Dixon set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 13.398 seconds. The …

Read More »

September 8, 2001 Results

Gundaker grabs win, Dixon claims Championship at I-55! Weber & Belken also crowned as Champions! PEVELY, MO (September 8, 2001) The 2001 UMP Late Model season championship came down to the wire on the final night of points, with four drivers still with a chance to take the title. Ed Dixon came in as the point leader holding a 43-point lead over Mark Oller who was three points ahead of Kevin Gundaker and twelve points ahead of Tim Ratajczyk. Tension and nerves were high at the start of the feature, which resulted in seven cautions in the first three laps of the feature for various spins and crashes including a hard crash by Randy Korte into the back stretch wall. One of those cautions was for point leader Dixon, who slowed with what he thought was suspension problems but turned out to be excessive mud in his right side wheels. …

Read More »

September 1, 2001 Results

Gundaker, Weber & Naeger win at I-55! PEVELY, MO (September 1, 2001) Kevin Gundaker held off the challenges of Jason Frankel and Ed Dixon to pick up his second consecutive UMP Late Model victory at I-55 Raceway. Gundaker, who started on the pole, led all twenty-five laps to claim the win. Frankel pressured Gundaker the entire race but couldn’t make the pass and settled for second. Dixon ran down the leaders late in the race but he ran out of time and finished third. Steve Shive came home fourth and Jim Durbin moved up to finish fifth from his fourteenth starting spot. In the UMP Modified division, Scott Weber continued to march toward his second straight season championship at I-55 Raceway. Rich Whaley was able to pull along side of Weber with two laps to go but had to settle for second. Brent Mullins was third, Dan Schlup fourth and …

Read More »