Breaking News


July 1, 2000 Results

Dixon Holds off Moyer to Win $10,000 Bud SummerNationals Pevely, Mo. (July 1) — Ed Dixon, the reigning track and national champion, held off the best of the touring late model drivers in the midwest to win the $10,000 first prize in the Bud UMP SummerNationals at I-55 Raceway. Dixon led 29 laps of the 40-lap feature, holding off Billy Moyer, who had won both 1999 Nationals races at the track. Kevin Weaver led the first six laps of the feature, then was passed by Dixon. Weaver was running second when he pulled off the track on lap nine with a broken A-frame. Dixon led until lap 11, when his car slipped after hitting a rut in turn two, turning the lead over to Moyer. On the fifteenth lap, Moyer was crossed up by the same rut, and Dixon retook the lead. After a restart on the 25th lap, Moyer …

Read More »

June 10, 2000 Results

Dixon, Weber and Worley Score at I-55 PEVELY, MO. (June 10) — Ed Dixon won a wild UMP Late Model feature at I-55 Raceway after race-long leader Tim Ratajczyk bumped a slower car and started to spin in front of traffic, bringing out a caution that sent him to the rear of the field. After taking the white flag, Ratajczyk nipped the back of a lapped car and started to spin, collecting Dixon. The two cars skidded sideways and slowed in front of traffic. Both cars continued moving and regained speed but only after the caution had waved due to the heavy traffic behind the two. Officials ruled that the caution had been caused by Ratajczyk and moved him to the rear of the field on the restart, leaving Dixon, the nose of his car knocked sideways, at the front of the field. Dixon held off Ed Bauman and Mark …

Read More »

June 7, 2000 Results

A Dude and a Young Lady Win at Open Wheel Wednesday Tony Stewart Blows Right Rear Tire While Leading Midget Feature Pevely, Mo. (June 7) — Danny "The Dude" Lasoski won the winged sprint car feature at I-55 Raceway in the fifth version of the track's annual "Open Wheel Wednesday" event. Tony Stewart, who won the NASCAR Winston Cup race just four days earlier, led 21 laps of the 25-lap companion MARA Midget feature before his right rear tire blew. That turned the race-long, second-place battle between Sarah McCune and Steve Knepper into a four-lap dash for the victory. McCune held off Knepper, one of the country's best midget drivers, to become the first woman to win a main event on the oval at I-55 Raceway since the track opened in 1977. The 22-year-old, who lives in Toledo, Ohio, was greeted by a standing ovation from the big audience attending …

Read More »