Home >> Results (page 42)


June 3, 2000 Results

Gansmann Guns Down the Field at I-55 Pevely, MO (June 3) Mark Gansmann passed Kevin Gundaker on lap three and pulled away to win his second feature of the season in the UMP Late Model division. Mark Faust and Kevin Gundaker battled side-by-side for second with Faust holding on for second. Mark Oller was fourth and Steve Shive finished fifth. Points leader Ed Dixon was a late arrival after winning the feature at Highland Speedway earlier in the evening and worked his way up to eighth after having to start on the back of the feature. Steve Shive won his heat race and the dash, while Mark Faust won the other heat. The UMP Modified division provided some exciting action as Jim Shereck won his first feature of the season. Scott Weber charged from his 19th starting position to finish a close second. Dean Hoffman raced around the low side …

Read More »

May 20, 2000 Results

Gansmann Becomes 5th Late Model Winner at I-55 Seets Tunes up For Bristol with Modified Sweep Pevely, Mo. (May 20) — Mark Gansmann edged Ed Dixon by inches Saturday to win his first UMP Late Model feature of the season at I-55 Raceway. Gansmann passed Steve Shive on the eleventh lap of the feature to take the lead. Dixon took the second spot from Shive on the 15th lap and slowly reeled in Gansmann. Dixon was on the leader's back bumper on lap 19 when he jumped the cushion and had to lift the gas pedal. He dropped a few car lengths back, but caught Gansmann again on the 24th lap. Heading into the final turn, Dixon dove low while Gansmann rode the cushion. The two hit the finish line side by side, and coasted around the track to see whowould be handed the checkered flag. Gansmann was ruled the …

Read More »

May 13, 2000 Results

Randy Korte Sweeps All-Star Game at I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. (May 13) — Randy Korte swept a stellar field of UMP Late Model drivers at I-55 Raceway, knocking off defending track champion Ed Dixon and NASCAR Winston Cup driver Ken Schrader to win his first feature at the track this year. The feature race had three leaders, but 15 laps into the race there were still seven cars racing three, and occasionally four, wide in the lead pack. Tim Ratajczyk and Steve Shive swapped the lead three times in the first four laps while Dixon, Schrader, Korte, Mark Oller and Brian Wolfmeier scrapped within a second of the lead. "I was looking for some place to go, but I had four guys around me!" Schrader said after race, which was witnessed by the track's biggest audience of the season. Shive broke and coasted off the track on lap 10. By …

Read More »

May 6, 2000 Results

Dixon, Weber and Wood Lead I-55 Show PEVELY, MO. (May 6) — Ed Dixon won his second late model feature of the season Saturday night at I-55 Raceway, pulling away from the field while a wild battle waged for the second spot. Dixon took the lead from Dave Jumper on the third lap. At various times, Jumper, Chad Zobrist, Jeff Johns, Tim Ratajczyk and Mark Oller fought for second. At the stripe Ratajczyk edged Oller by inches for the runner-up spot. The third-place finish was the lowest for Oller in five nights of racing at I-55 this year. Johns was a heat and dash winner. Ratajczyk also won a heat. Rodney Pense became the first driver to land on his roof at I-55 Raceway in 2000, going over on the tenth lap of the late model feature. The right tires of his car rode up the front straight wall and …

Read More »

April 29, 2000 Results

Lance Wins Wild One at I-55 Raceway PEVELY, MO. (April 29) — Steve Lance Jr. of Cuba, Ill., won his first late model feature at I-55 Raceway Saturday in a wild and controversial race. Lance started on the front row and held off Ed Dixon for 13 laps. Lance stayed in the high groove while Dixon repeatedly dived low in the turns to pull along side the leader. Mark Oller, meanwhile, moved up from the rear of the field to create a fender-rubbing three-way battle for the lead. On lap 16 Oller also got past Lance. The cars of Oller and Dixon bumped on lap 17 as the two raced side by side down the front straight. Dixon's car was squeezed into the wall, breaking the right front suspension and knocking him out of the race. On the 23rd lap, Lance pulled a high-low move on Oller coming out of …

Read More »

April 22, 2000 Results

Ed Dixon Breaks Through for First Victory of 2000 – Scott Weber and Paul Belken Jr. Also Notch Wins Pevely, Mo. (April 22) — It took three tries for defending champion Ed Dixon to win his first UMP Late Model feature at I-55 Raceway in the year 2000. Dixon passed Jim Durbin on lap seven of the 25-lap feature to take the lead Saturday night. Mark Oller, winner of the season's first two late model features, moved into second on the 16th lap but couldn't pass Dixon this week. John Hobson was third and Durbin ended up fourth. The action was close and tight throughout the race, with several pileups and many banging incidents. Pat Ryan finished the feature with the plastic nose piece from Clay Bauman's car hanging from his rear bumper. Dixon also won his heat and dash. Steve Shive won the other late model heat. The UMP …

Read More »

April 15, 2000 Results

Oller Streaks From 19th to Edge Dixon By Inches Story by Rick Stoff Pevely, Mo. (April 15) — Defending champion Ed Dixon took the lead of Saturday's UMP Late Model feature from Steve Shive on lap four at I-55 Raceway. Dixon cruised comfortably at the front of the field for the next 20 laps. Mark Oller, meanwhile, was fighting through the field from his 19th starting position. Oller pulled alongside Dixon with two laps to go, but Dixon held him off until the white flag lap. On the last circuit Dixon went to the cushion at the top of the track while Oller searched for traction in the moist dirt at the bottom of the turns. Oller put a slide job on Dixon going into the last turn, bringing the crowd to its feet. As Oller slid in front of Dixon, Ed cranked the steering wheel left and pulled to …

Read More »

April 1, 2000 Results

Oller Does Opening Ceremonies in I-55 Late Models Pevely, Mo. (April 1) — Mark Oller knocked off defending track champion Ed Dixon to win the first UMP Late Model feature of 2000 at I-55 Raceway Saturday night. Tim Ratajczyk followed Dixon across the line to finish third.         Jason Frankel was hot in the late model preliminaries, winning his heat and the dash. Ratajczyk and Steve Shive also won heat races.         Scott Weber opened the UMP Modified season with a feature victory over Leroy Haney and Tom Seets. The track's 1999 modified champ, Dean Hoffman, finished fourth.         Weber also won his heat and dash, giving him the first sweep of the season at I-55 Raceway.         Tom Ratajczyk, Matt Mevert and Darrell Hoffman also started their seasons with heat race wins. The 40-car modified field required two semi-features, which were won by Ray Walsh and Chris Soutiea.         …

Read More »